Interreg Co-funded by the European Union

Black Sea Basin Cross-border Cooperation Programme

ENPI Black Sea Basin Cooperation Programme is one of the two cross border cooperation programmes in the course of financial cooperation between Türkiye-European Union. This multilateral cooperation programme involves 8 countries, namely Armenia, Bulgaria, Georgia, Greece, Moldova, Romania, Türkiye and Ukraine, and it is jointly financed from ENPI (for participant countries excluding Türkiye) and IPA (for Türkiye) funds.

The Joint Managing Authority (JMA) has been established in Romania by the Ministry for Development, Public Administration. Ministry for EU Affairs acts as the National Authority in Türkiye.

The programme, which aims to provide a stronger and sustainable economic and social development of the regions of the Black Sea Basin, is a framework to finance the projects that meet the following criteria: to be implemented in cooperation with partners from other countries and to have a cross border impact. In Türkiye, Programme's Eligible Area covers 25 cities: Amasya, Artvin, Bartın, Bolu, Çankırı, Çorum, Düzce, Edirne, Giresun, Gümüşhane, İstanbul, Karabük, Kastamonu, Kırklareli, Kocaeli, Ordu, Sakarya, Samsun, Sinop Tekirdağ, Rize, Tokat, Trabzon, Yalova, Zonguldak.  

The objectives of the grants to be awarded under this programme, are as follows:
1. Promoting economic and social development in the border areas,
2. Working together to address common challenges,
3. Promoting local, people-to-people type actions.

The priority axes that are defined for the selection of projects, act as a transmitter while attaining the overall objectives of the programme. These axes are described below:

1. Supporting cross border partnerships for economic and social development based on combined resources,
2. Sharing resources and competencies for environmental protection and conservation,
3. Supporting cultural and educational initiatives for the establishment of a common cultural environment in the Basin.